JOHN BURDETT BOOKS
SEARCH FOR ITEMS



MOST RECENT REVIEWS:

BOOK REVIEW: BANGKOK HAUNTS
BY JOHN BURDETT

We hope you enjoy this book review by Nancy Eaton.

The books shown at the left are the most popular John Burdett books. Click on them to see details.



When you think you have seen everything, something else comes along. Sonchai Jitpleecheep, a Royal Thai Police detective, has seen many things in his life but nothing compared to a video sent to him anonymously.

Sonchai and an FBI friend, Kimberley Jones, viewed the video. They were watching what is called a snuff film. Much to Sonchai's surprise, the person dying on the film was a woman he never stopped loving named Damrong. There is also something at the end of the film that leaves Sonchai haunted. What is it? Sonchai and Kimberley knew they had to investigate this crime.

The two start the investigation by going to her former husband, Baker. He is not too cooperative because he said Damrong caused him nothing but problems. The investigation takes them to many places including behind the scenes at the exclusive men's club.

Sonchai is having dreams and feelings about Damrong and is having a hard time sleeping along side his pregnant wife.

The investigation will also take the two through the office of the police captain who is always up to something and doesn't want Sonchai and this case to get in his way.

Will Sonchai and Kimberley solve this case?

Once again, John Burdett does an excellent job of providing the reader with an insight into the Thai culture including religion and sex trade. This is a fast paced book that will capture the reader from the very first page. The book is full of some very compelling characters along with a couple of "odd" ones. That is what makes the story so good. Fans of Bangkok 8 and Bangkok Tattoo will thoroughly enjoy this new novel by John Burdett. Be sure to add Bangkok Haunts to your reading list. This book is highly recommended.

REVIEWED BY NANCY EATON

DO NOT REPRINT WITHOUT PERMISSION OF THE REVIEWER, NANCY EATON

Thanks for visiting!



HOME

BOOK REVIEWS - ALPHABETICAL BY TITLE