BESTSELLERSWORLD.COM

Newsletter for November 2009

WHERE READING IS FUN!

You are subscribed as %%emailaddress%%

Book Giveaways for November

lineup.jpgOne random winner will be chosen to receive a copy of The Lineup by Otto Penzler.  Click on the book cover to enter.








alex.jpgOne random winner will be chosen to receive a copy of I, Alex Cross by James Patterson.  Click on the book cover to enter.







Book Winners for October


Winners of An Honorable German:


Paula Myers - Conway, Arkansas

Theresa Krakauskas - Long Branch, NJ

Melissa Keith - Virginia Beach, VA

We are still waiting for confirmation from two other winners.

WINNER OF TRUE BLUE

Bill Salie, Jr. - Boxford, MA


WINNER OF TELL ME SOMETHING NEW

Winner has been notified


WINNERS OF $1,000 AND AN IDEA


Susan Smith - Olathe, KS

John Masschelin - Ontario, Canada

Robert Randall Miller - Thomasville, NC


We are waiting for confirmation from two other winners.

 

Featured Book -  An Honorable German by Charles McCain

german.jpgIn the tradition of Das Boot and The Hunt for Red October comes a sweeping saga of World War II, featuring a heroic and conflicted German U-Boat commander . . .


An Honorable German 


When World War II begins, Max Brekendorf, a proud young German naval officer, fights for his country with honor and courage. With the unstoppable German war machine overrunning Europe, he looks ahead to a bright future with his fiancée, Mareth.


But as the war progresses, their future together becomes less and less certain. German victories begin to fade. In the North Atlantic, Max must face the increasing strength of the Allies on ever more harrowing missions. Berlin itself is savaged by bombing, making life for Mareth increasingly dangerous and desperate. And as the Third Reich steadily crumbles, Nazi loyalists begin to infiltrate Max’s crew and turn their terror on Germany’s own armed forces.

Recognizing what his nation has become, Max is forced to make a choice between his own sense of morality and his duty to the Reich.


With its stirring, rarely seen glimpse of the German home front during World War II, vivid characters, and evocation of the drama and terror of war at sea, AN HONORABLE GERMAN is a suspense-filled story of adventure, of love and loss, and of honor and redemption.


CHARLES MCCAIN is a lifelong student of German military and maritime history. He grew up in South Carolina and is a graduate of Tulane University. Based on more than twenty years of research, AN HONORABLE GERMAN is his first novel. McCain lives in Washington, D.C.

“A truly epic and stirring tale of war, love, and the sea. An Honorable German is a remarkable debut novel by a writer who has done his homework so well that it seems he was an eyewitness to the history he portrays in such vivid detail. An original and surprising look at World War II from the other side.”


- Nelson DeMille

“A fast paced, old fashioned naval yarn that crackles with authenticity, An Honorable German will leave the taste of salt on your tongue as you breathlessly turn the pages. A first-class tale that afficionnados of the Second World War will find especially satisfying. I enjoyed it immensely!”


- Christopher Reich



VISIT AUTHOR'S WEBSITE



Featured Book - Until the Deep Water Stills by Michael Robert Dyet

stills.jpgFor Katherine Orr the words “I love you” are not enough. Only a demonstrative expression of her husband Jayce’s love can rescue their relationship. But Jayce’s personal demons prevent him from giving her this even though he knows that she is all that stands between him and a descent into chaos.

Simultaneously, Bryan struggles to repair the breach of love in his life caused by the death of his daughter. But his wife, Jayce’s sister, grows ever more distant. Charismatic social activist Faith, who longs for love but fears she will lose herself in it, unwittingly becomes the catalyst for change in the lives of all four characters.

The paths of these four converge toward a tragic event as each struggles to decipher the intricacies of love lost and love found. Each discovers in their own way that love is the living core of human existence and that how we love defines who we are.

Until the Deep Water Stills weaves together complex characters with a tightening web of external events. It ranges from lyrical to provocative in its narrative technique and from introspective to universal it its message. Metaphors weave throughout the narrative creating a layered and rich reading experience.

Until the Deep Water Stills is an internet-enhanced novel. Each chapter has a corresponding entry on the companion website where readers can choose to expand their experience of the novel. The website offers secondary plot lines not found in the print novel as the characters find themselves with an online identity:

Katherine’s Photo Journal (text & photographs)

Jayce’s Diary (text & audio recordings)

Bryan’s Blog (under a pseudonym)

Faith’s Letters to Her Runaway Mother (text & audio recordings)

The reader can approach the book three ways:

1) Read the print novel only as it can stand on its own
2) Alternate between the print novel and the website chapter by chapter
3) Read the print novel first and then experience the website.

VISIT AUTHOR'S WEBSITE

Featured Book - Screwing the Pooch by J.B. Bergstad

pooch5.jpgScrewing the Pooch is a collection of seven eclectic tales filled with thrills, suspense, chills and love. There's even a little laughter and murder to liven up a coffee or lunch break. If agony, redemption, love and laughter are your cup of tea, you will find them stylishly attended in this compilation. The unusual mix of genre fiction is bound to please the most discerning fiction buff and may even please the reading palate of the nonfiction lover. Screwing the Pooch is a fun romp and a fast ride. Strap yourself in and enjoy.

VISIT AUTHOR'S WEBSITE

VISIT HYDE'S CORNER WEBSITE


Recent Reviews

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

A Change in Altitude by Anita Shreve (Review #3)

A Superior Death by Nevada Barr

America Libre by Raul Ramos y Sanchez

Aurora of the Northern Lights by Holly Hardin

Awakening by S.J. Bolton

Beneath the Bleeding by Val McDermid (Review #2)

Bloodborn by Kathryn Fox

Chambers of Death by Priscilla Royal

Cracking the $$ Code by Patricia Annino

Dead Renegade by Victoria Houston

Deadly Descent by Charlotte Hinger (Review #2)

Death Message by Mark Billingham

Dispel the Mist by Marilyn Meredith

Diversity by Deandre Pearson

Dreamer by Phillip L. Davidson

Evenings at the Argentine Club by Julia Amande

Get Real by Donald E. Westlake (Review #2)

Guardian of Lies by Steve Martini (Review #2)

Holy Blood, Holy Grail by Michael Baigent

Immaculate Deception by Courney J. Cobb

In the Dark by Mark Billingham

Judgement & Wrath by Matt Hilton

Judgment & Wrath by Matt Hilton (Review #2)

Kill Me Twice by Jerry Bayne

Letters to Rosy by C. Ellene Bartlett

Malarial Fevers by Jonna-Lynn K. Mandelbaum

Messy Tessy by Leah Orr

Necessary As Blood by Deborah Crombie

Necessary As Blood by Deborah Crombie (Review #2)

Nine Dragons by Michael Connelly

Perdition by Lee Emory

Safer by Sean Doolittle

Screwing the Pooch by J.B. Bergstad

The Affordability Factor by Nathaniel J. Williams

The Deputy by Victor Gischler

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

The Price of Love by Peter Robinson

The Secret of the Sacred Scarab by Fiona Ingram

The Solomon Effect by C.S. Graham

The Solomon Effect by C.S. Graham (Review #2)

The Two Minute Rule by Robert Crais

The Witch Doctor's Wife by Tamara Myers

Tidings of Great Boys by Shelley Adina

To Wrestle with Darkness by Alan D. Jones

Totally Killer by Greg Olear

Until the Deep Water Stills by Michael Robert Dyet

W.O.M.A.N:  A New Definition by Gina Cloud

 

To stop receiving these emails please unsubscribe.
Type your Company Name, Address and Contact Details