BESTSELLERSWORLD.COM


Newsletter for September 2009

WHERE READING IS FUN!

You are subscribed as %%emailaddress%%

Book Giveaways for September

altitude.jpgOne random winner will be chosen to receive a copy of A Change in Altitude by Anita Shreve.  Click on the book cover to enter.

 

 

 

 







tut.jpg
One random winner will be chosen to receive a copy of The Murder of King Tut by James Patterson.  Click on book cover to enter.

 

 

 

 








Winners of August Book Giveaways

Winners of Guardian of Lies:

Allen Hott - Bonita Springs, FL
Lindsey Kuser - Spotsylvania,VA.
Susan Smith - Olathe, KS
Estella Kissell - Coquille OR
Barbara Semeraro - West Patterson, NJ

Winners of Detectives Don't Wear Seat Belts:

Joanne Quarz - Las Vegas, NV
Jud Hanson -Fayetteville AR 72704
Ruby Davis -Tulsa, Oklahoma

We are still waiting for confirmation from two other winners.

Winner of Italian for Beginners:

Linda Howard -  Belfast, ME


Winner of Sand Sharks

Lois Eden  - Nevada, Ohio

 

 

 

FEATURED BOOK - AN HONORABLE GERMAN  -                                          BY CHARLES MCCAIN

  german.jpg
An Honorable German
In the tradition of Das Boot and The Hunt for Red October comes a sweeping saga of World War II, featuring a heroic and conflicted German U-Boat commander . . .

When World War II begins, Max Brekendorf, a proud young German naval officer, fights for his country with honor and courage. With the unstoppable German war machine overrunning Europe, he looks ahead to a bright future with his fiancée, Mareth.

But as the war progresses, their future together becomes less and less certain. German victories begin to fade. In the North Atlantic, Max must face the increasing strength of the Allies on ever more harrowing missions. Berlin itself is savaged by bombing, making life for Mareth increasingly dangerous and desperate. And as the Third Reich steadily crumbles, Nazi loyalists begin to infiltrate Max’s crew and turn their terror on Germany’s own armed forces.

Recognizing what his nation has become, Max is forced to make a choice between his own sense of morality and his duty to the Reich.

With its stirring, rarely seen glimpse of the German home front during World War II, vivid characters, and evocation of the drama and terror of war at sea, AN HONORABLE GERMAN is a suspense-filled story of adventure, of love and loss, and of honor and redemption.

CHARLES MCCAIN is a lifelong student of German military and maritime history. He grew up in South Carolina and is a graduate of Tulane University. Based on more than twenty years of research, AN HONORABLE GERMAN is his first novel. McCain lives in Washington, D.C. You can visit his website at www.charlesmccain.com

“A truly epic and stirring tale of war, love, and the sea. An Honorable German is a remarkable debut novel by a writer who has done his homework so well that it seems he was an eyewitness to the history he portrays in such vivid detail. An original and surprising look at World War II from the other side.”
Nelson DeMille

“A fast paced, old fashioned naval yarn that crackles with authenticity, An Honorable German will leave the taste of salt on your tongue as you breathlessly turn the pages. A first-class tale that afficionnados of the Second World War will find especially satisfying. I enjoyed it immensely!”
Christopher Reich


FEATURED BOOK - ACROSS THE POND BY STORYHEART

pondsmall.jpgSince the book came out in October 2008 “Across the Pond” has become a huge hit. Storyheart has been compared by some as “a modern day Judy Blume,” and “Across the Pond” has been placed in the same category along side books like “Harry Potter” and “Twilight.” Enjoyed by people all over the world, with over a hundred interviews and reviews already received, the book, while intended for the Teen/Young Adult market, has become popular with people of all ages.

Until very recently “Across the Pond” was only available for purchase online, it has now been listed as returnable in Ingram’s Database, so can be purchased at a book store near you.

With romance, adventure, humor, first love and even a little sport thrown in for good measure Storyheart takes the readers on magical trip that all will enjoy, “Across the Pond.”

Protagonist, Fred Squire, leaves England for a vacation in the USA and he’s definitely not happy about it. Everything changes when he meets Brit, the attractive American girl who helps him adapt to the US way of life and awakens his pangs of affection. Struggling with his feelings for Brit and the language, Fred’s world is turned upside down when, after a confrontation with the neighborhood bully, Steve Harris, Brit tells Fred her dark secret.
Life continues to throw Fred a curveball when he catches a baseball worth a small fortune. Further run-ins with Harris, a crazy family BBQ, and a chase through a mall all add to Fred’s American adventure.
Will Fred and Brit’s budding romance stand through the test of time? What happens when Fred goes back to England? Witness the unexpected yet thrilling twists and turns as their story unfolds. For more information on Across the Pond, click here.

FEATURED BOOK - AGING WITH GRACE BY GREG LIBERMAN

gracesm.jpgGrace, once beautiful and popular, is now a housewife that is dissatisfied and growing older. When she reconnects on a social networking Web site with April, a high school friend who is leading a life full of glamour and celebrities, Grace decides this lifestyle was her destiny, too. Soon Grace is leading a double life of luxury with Victor, a mysterious Hollywood powerhouse, and one of resentment and lies with her husband and two daughters. She soon discovers that her selfishness and fantasy life may have trapped her in a situation she cannot escape from.

“Liberman helped me come to terms with some of my own personal issues dealing with certain relationships in my own life. I recommend this book to anyone seeking that desire to change life drastically”
-FROM THE BOOK FAERY REVIEWS

“The book is well-written and a quick read”
- Great Reads and Page Turners Blog

“I must say that Author Greg Liberman writes chick lit like no man’s business!”
-Wanda Lynne Young: Bookalicious

Recent Reviews

A Night at the Operation by Jeffrey Cohen

A Texas Ranger's Family by Mae Nunn

Ageing Well by Dr. George Cromack

Aging with Grace by Greg Liberman

Alibi by Teri Woods

Amen Corner by Rick Shefchik

Amigoland by Oscar Casares

Balance of Power by James W. Huston

Blindman's Bluff by Faye Kellerman

Breathing Water by Timothy Hallinan

Charon's Landing by Jack Du Brul

Color is Everything by Dan Bartges

Color of Lightning by Paulette Giles

Cookie by Lisa Woomer

Crush by Alan Jacobson

Damage Control by J.A. Jance

Dead Write by Sheila Lowe

Deep Fire Rising by Jack DuBrul

Desperate Highway by Jesse Stretch

Everything Hurts by Bill Sheft

I'm So Happy for You by Lucinda Rosenfeld

Island of Naked Women by Inger Framasson

Italian for Beginners by Kristin Harmel

Leader Skies by Ann Parker

Liquid Soul by Matthew Carter

Lovers and Gamblers by Jackie Collins

Mind Scrambler by Chris Grabenstein

New Tricks by David Rosenfelt

Night and Day by Robert B. Parker

Painting the Invisible Man by Rita Schiano

Receive Me Falling by Erika Robuck

Roastbeef's Promise by David Jerome

Runemarks by Joanne Harris

Sidney Sheldon's Mistress of the Game by Tilly Bagshawe

Snow Melts in Spring by Deborah Vogts

Some Like It Hot Buttered by Jeffrey Cohen

Sworn Jury by John D. Mills

Take Me Out to the Ballgame by Gary Morganstein

The Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand

The Day the Falls Stood Still by Cathy Marie Buchanan

The Desert Baron by Conrad Crease

The Lucifer Gospel by Paul Christopher

The Mercedes Coffin by Faye Kellerman

The Second Date by Mary Lyndon Simonsen

The Shimmer by David Morrell

The Summer Kitchen by Karen Weinreb

Two of the Deadliest Edited by Elizabeth George

Vengeance Road by Rick Mofina

 

           

To stop receiving these emails please unsubscribe.
Type your Company Name, Address and Contact Details